Bautzen – Mustard Shop and Mustard Parlor

Tach,

Clearly there is no Bautzen without Bautz’ner mustard. So we started our tour in the mustard shop, which is slightly disguised as a museum. It’s also right on the Rathausplatz (town hall square), where our B&B was located. Bautz’ner mustard is truly one of ten products that West Germans knew from the former zone. However, behind Rotkäppchen sparkling wine and Radeberger beer in ranking. But the blue plastic containers are really also in every supermarket. And in the meantime, western kids have also grown up with the mustard, at least my three boys. Recently, they were pretty upset that I bought a glass jar of Kühne semi-spicy. Just to be clear: in addition!!!! I wasn’t being disloyal. I only wanted to have the mustard of my childhood again. (Back then Kühne was still a Berlin company.)

Senfladen – Mustard Shop

Fourteen stone-ground mustards etc. are available for purchase in the shop. I had already seen a few types in the mustard store in Görlitz during the spring. I think the line with the stoneware pots are really pretty. We bought a few pots for Christmas presents. More on the selection: http://www.bautzner-senfladen.de/shop/.

What is stone-ground I pondered and found an answer on the DLG (Deutsche Landwirtschafts- Gesellschaft (German Agricultural Association) website. Mustard production is explained here: http://www.dlg-verbraucher.info/de/lebensmittel-wissen/warenkunde/senfherstellung.html

Bautzener Senfstube – Bautzen mustard parlor

On the way back from the Ortenburg we ate lunch in the “Bautzener Senfstube” (mustard parlor). Lilija had goose with a beer from Görlitz, “Landskron”, a dark yet light beer. I had classic mustard eggs. And as always, water. Tja, true German cuisine, everything sort of boring and bland. I really had expected more in a mustard restaurant; an unexpected meal but this is not it. Slightly grumpy service. Everything somewhat eastern. So discover yourself and cook.

Morjens


2 responses to “Bautzen – Mustard Shop and Mustard Parlor”

  1. Marina Graham says:

    Looks like a tiny cosy town. Nice to see you two on the go!

  2. Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by
    accident, and I am surprised why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bautzen – Senfladen und Bautzener Senfstube

Tach,

Klar, daß Bautzen ohne Bautz’ner Senf nicht geht. Also haben wir unsern Rundgang im Senfladen, der ein bißchen als Museum getarnt ist, angefangen. Der ist auch gleich am Rathausplatz, an dem auch unsere Pension war. Tatsächlich ist der Bautz’ner Senf eins von zehn Produkten aus der ehemaligen Zone, das auch Westdeutsche kennen. Allerdings rangiert er hinter Rotkäpchen Sekt und Radeberger Bier. Aber die blauen Plastiktöpfe stehen doch auch wirklich in jedem Supermarkt. Und mittlerweile sind auch West-Kinder mit dem Senf aufgewachsen, mindestens meine drei Jungs. Die waren dann letztens auch ganz empört darüber, daß ich ein Glas Kühne Mittelscharf gekauft habe. Gleich vorweg: zusätzlich!!!! ich bin nicht untreu geworden. Ich wollte nur eben auch mal wieder den Senf meiner Kindheit haben. (Da war Kühne ja auch noch eine Berliner Firma.)

Senfladen

Vierzehn steinvermahlene Senfe gibt es u.a. in dem Laden zu kaufen. Ein paar Sorten hatte ich schon im Senfladen in Görlitz im Frühjahr gesehen. Die Serie mit dem Senf im Steinguttöpfchen finde ich ganz hübsch. Wir haben ein paar Töpfe gekauft, Weihnachtsgeschenke. Hier mehr zu den Sorten: http://www.bautzner-senfladen.de/shop/.

Was ist steinvermahlen, habe ich mich gefragt und bin auf der Seite der DLG (Deutsche Landwirtschafts- Gesellschaft) fündig geworden. Hier wird erklärt wie Senf hergestellt wird http://www.dlg-verbraucher.info/de/lebensmittel-wissen/warenkunde/senfherstellung.html

Bautzener Senfstube

Auf dem Rückweg von der Ortenburg haben in der „Bautzener Senfstube“ zu Mittag gegessen. Lilija hatte Gans, dazu ein Bier aus Görlitz, „Landskron“, ein dunkles, aber trotzdem leichtes Bier. Ich ganz klassisch Senfeier. Und wie immer Wasser. Tja, treudeutsche Küche, alles etwas langweilig und lieblos. Tatsächlich hatte ich bei einem Senfrestaurant mehr erwartet, mal ein Essen was mann nicht schon kennt, aber ist nicht. Leicht muffelnde Bedienung. Alles etwas ostig. Also selber entdecken und kochen.

Morjens

 

 

 


2 Antworten zu “Bautzen – Senfladen und Bautzener Senfstube”

  1. Marina Graham sagt:

    Looks like a tiny cosy town. Nice to see you two on the go!

  2. Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by
    accident, and I am surprised why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.