Birr Testet – Meistro Falafel in Odessa

Tach,

Everyone knows: Lilija loves falafel. Aleksey from Odessa told me about the “best” falafel place in Odessa. I nicely waited until Lilija’s arrival to test it. That was the third falafel I tried then in Odessa. It was time on Saturday. We were at the sea, then shopping. On the way back we looked at a constellation of monuments for seamen (see: ). Then to the falafel. “Surprise”, as the Russian says, for Lilija. And I was hungry; that too of course. The place is at the street corner Preobrazhenskaja/Troitskaja. Expanded center, “downtown”, as Aleksey likes to say. While driving by I always saw a horde of customers; should be/must be good. The place is called “Meistro Falafel”. Enjoy your meal is written in Ukrainian and Russian on the sign. We’ll see.
The menu is manageable: Falafel, shawarma, durum, hot dog (Xoт дог – I love this word). With extra variations: Traditional, with potato quarters (not French fries!); double the meat (chicken); extra potato or humus (chickpea mousse). Beverage: Ayran, tea, coffee.
Because it’s someone Georgian, there’s also a Georgian speciality on the beverage menu, probably because there was still room: Suluguni, a sour cheese; available as a roll with potatoes or with chicken.
The basis for all the dishes is the same. Everything is placed on thin pita bread with fresh salad from white cabbage, tomatoes, pickled cucumbers, tomato sauce, a white sauce and a layer of humus beneath. If requested, one can also have adzhika (a spicy, traditional sauce from Georgia, which can be bought in homemade form from many stands at the market. Both in the Ukraine as well as in Russia; it’s known and widespread. The factory-made version is also available in supermarkets. Something similar to harissa). Then a small package is folded and warmed up in an electric table grill. Then the falafel is placed in a plastic bag, which is open at the top and there’s also a napkin. On the very top there’s a glob of humus. The sauce leaks through the thin bread, the plastic bag prevents a mess.
Lilija had “traditional”, I had it with potatoes. How did it taste? Good, we both though very good. Recommendable. Because of the different bread and because of the other sauces and spices, it also tastes very different from what we’re used to in Berlin. But that’s not meant to be negative. Whether it’s Odessa’s best falafel, as Aleksey says, I don’t know, but it’s very good in any case. Other countries, other falafels.
Morjens
All photos by Lilija Birr-Tsurkan. (She took the photos, which is why there is no photo of her yet again)

One response to “Birr Testet – Meistro Falafel in Odessa”

  1. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant clear concept

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Birr Testet – Meistro Falafel in Odessa

Tach,

Alle wissen: Lilija liebt Falafel. Aleksey aus Odessa hat mir von der „besten“ Falafel-Bude in Odessa erzählt. Ich habe also brav gewartet, bis Lilija gekommen ist, um sie zu testen. Das ist dann die dritte Falafel, die ich in Odessa probiert habe. Sonnabend war es soweit. Wir waren am Meer, anschließend einkaufen. Auf dem Rückweg haben wir uns eine Konstellation von Denkmalen für die Seeleute angesehen (siehe: ). Dann zur Falafel. „Surprise“, wie der Russe sagt, für Lilija. Und ich hatte Hunger, das natürlich auch. Die Bude ist an der Straßenecke Preobrazhenskaja/Troitskaja. Erweitertes Zentrum, „Downtown“, wie Alkesey zu sagen pflegt. Beim Vorbeifahren habe ich schon immer gesehen, da steppt der Bär, muß/sollte also gut sein. Die Bude heißt „Meistro Falafel“. Guten Appetit steht in Ukrainisch und Russisch auf dem Schild. Wir werden sehen.

Die Karte ist überschaubar: Falafel, Shawarma, Dürüm, Hot Dog (Xoт дог – ich liebe dieses Wort). Dazu die Variationen: Traditionell; mit Kartoffelvierteln (nicht pommes frites!); doppelt Fleisch (Hühnchen); extra Kartoffel oder Humus (Kichererbsenpüree). Getränke: Ayran, Thee, Kaffee.

Da es ein Georgier ist, gibt es auch eine georgische Spezialität auf der Getränkekarte, wohl weil da noch Platz war: Suluguni, ein säuerlicher Käse, es gibt ihn als Rolle mit Kartoffeln oder mit Hühnchen.

Die Grundlage für alle Gerichte ist gleich. Alles wird auf dünnen Fladenbrot angerichtet, mit frischem Salat aus Weißkohl, Tomaten, eingelegten Gurken, Tomaten-Soße, einer weißen Soße, drunter eine schicht Humus. Auf Wunsch gibt es dazu Adzhika (eine scharfe, traditionelle Soße aus Georgien, die mann auch an vielen Ständen selbstgemacht auf dem Markt kaufen kann. Sowohl in der Ukraine als auch in Rußland, sie ist bekannt und sehr verbreitet. Es gibt sie auch in den Supermärkten aus der Fabrik. So etwas ähnliches wie Harissa). Dann wird ein Päckchen gefaltet und in einen elektrischen Tischgrill erwärmt. Danach kommt die Falafel in eine oben offene Plastiktüte und eine Serviette gibt es dazu. Obendrauf gibt es noch einen Klacks Humus. Die Soße suppt durch das dünne Brot, die Plastiktüte verhindert das mann sich einsaut.

Lilija hatte „traditionell“, ich mit Kartoffeln. Wie hat es geschmeckt? Gut, uns beiden, sehr gut. Empfehlenswert. Durch das unterschiedliche Brot und durch die anderen Soßen und Gewürze, schmeckt es auch sehr anders, als wir es aus Berlin gewohnt sind.  Aber das ist nicht negativ gemeint. Ob es die beste Falafel Odessas ist wie Aleksey sagt, weiß ich nicht, aber sehr gut ist sie auf jeden Fall. Andere Länder, andere Falafel.

Morjens

Alle Photos von Lilija Birr-Tsurkan. (Sie hat photographiert, weshalb dann mal wieder ein Photo mit ihr fehlt)

Eine Antwort zu “Birr Testet – Meistro Falafel in Odessa”

  1. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant clear concept

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.